DAVIS, Calif., July 27, 2020…The American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) selected 50 scholarship recipients to receive $107,500 in financial support in their pursuit of scientific research and advancement in enology or viticulture.
Two of the scholarship recipients, Rachel Allison (Enology) from Cornell University, New York, and Jaclyn Fiola (Viticulture) from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, received the ASEV Presidents’ Award for Scholarship in Enology and Viticulture, ASEV’s top scholarship. Allison and Fiola were awarded with $12,500 each for exceeding expectations of the traditional ASEV scholarship program as well as demonstrating their leadership capacity.
Forty-eight students throughout the United States and Canada were awarded with a traditional scholarship for a total of $82,500 to support their academic pursuit in enology or viticulture. The following is a list of the students who received a scholarship:
• Robert Blundell, University of California, Davis
• Tyler Chandross-Cohen, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
• Christopher Chen, University of California, Davis
• Cody Copp, Oregon State University, Corvallis
• Angelica de Castro Iobbi, Oregon State University, Corvallis
• Alana Edwards, University of Georgia, Athens
• Ryan Fifield, Cornell University, New York
• Suzanne Fleishman, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
• Alex Fredrickson, University of Missouri, Columbia
• Bernadette Gagnier, Washington State University, Pullman
• Esteban Garcia, California State University, Fresno
• Atzin Gonzalez Andrade, University of Missouri, Columbia
• Andrew Harner, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
• Robert Herrell, California State University, Fresno
• Samuel Hoffman, Oregon State University, Corvallis
• Cassandra Hutcheson, Texas A&M University, College Station
• Adam Lauderdale, Oregon State University, Corvallis
• Jerry Lin, University of California, Davis
• Sarah Lyons,* The University of British Columbia, Canada
• Gita Mallya, University of California, Davis
• Lauren Marigliano, University of California, Davis
• Kimberlee Marinelli, University of California, Davis
• Margaret McCoy, Washington State University, Prosser
• Alexa McDaniel, Washington State University, Pullman
• Stephen McGuire, University of California, Davis
• Arunabha Mitra, Washington State University, Prosser
• Laise Moreira, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
• Kori Munk, California State University, Fresno
• Karlene Negus, Missouri State University, Springfield
• Melanie Nichols, Oregon State University, Corvallis
• Alexander Olenskyj,** University of California, Davis
• Demetra Perry, Cornell University, New York
• Meredith Persico, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
• Quynh Phan, Oregon State University, Corvallis
• Salvador Pineda, California State University, Fresno
• Alejandra Ponce de Leon, University of California, Davis
• Colden Proe, Cornell University, New York
• Daniela Quiroz, University of California, Davis
• Clarissa Reyes, University of California, Davis
• Victoria Roberts, University of California, Davis
• Abelardo Rodriguez Cetto, California State University, Fresno
• Arran Rumbaugh,*** University of California, Davis
• Lauren Saltiel, University of California, Davis
• Khushwinder Singh, California State University, Fresno
• Andrej Svyantek, North Dakota State University, Fargo
• Saskia Tingey, University of California, Davis
• Yu-Te Tseng, University of California, Davis
• Maria Zumkeller, University of California, Davis
*Recipient of the ASEV James Wolpert scholarship **Recipient of the ASEV Michael Vail scholarship
***Recipient of the ASEV Dennis Martin scholarship
The ASEV Scholarship Committee includes Chair Chandra Richter from Drinkworks in Vermont; Torey Arvik from Sonomaceuticals/WholeVine Products in California; Luciane Bertoletti Barros, a consultant from Texas; Ria D’Aversa from McEvoy Ranch in California; Patrick Gibney from Cornell University, New York; David Lockwood from The University of Tennessee; Merilark Padgett-Johnson from Santa Rosa Junior College, California; Brent Sams from E&J Gallo Winery in California; and Gordon Walker from Flotek in California.
For more information about the ASEV scholarship programs, visit asev.org/scholarship-programs.
Founded in 1950 by a group of researchers and winemakers, ASEV is dedicated to the interests of enologists, viticulturists and others in the fields of wine and grape research and production throughout the world. For more information, visit www.asev.org.


Press releases are generated outside of Spirited magazine and the information contained does not necessarily reflect the opinion of Spirited or its parent company, Sonoma Media Investments.